Summer Reads

Hello everybody!

How have you been? It’s officially Summer and I want to celebrate by talking about books I’m planning to read this Summer. I love doing seasonal TBRs. I find that I get to plan out the books I want to read more reasonably compared to monthly TBRs, if that made any sense.

During the Summer, I tend to read lot of contemporary. I already read a lot of contemporary in general, but Summer is usually when I read the most contemporary novels. However, this Summer I want to try to switch things up a little and add in a little fantasy to this list.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson


Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

As it’s title suggests, this book takes place in the Summer. I have not read any of Morgan Matson’s books but if I am not mistaken, they all take place in the Summer. So, I feel that it is very appropriate to read her books in the Summer. Even though I plan on reading all her books this season, I especially want to read this one. The synopsis of this book intrigues me the most, I would say. I love the idea that this story is based around family, which surprising, is something you don’t get a lot of in YA. It also sounds like it’s going to have a little bit of everything (e.g. family, romance, friendships). I feel that this will be a very heartwarming read and I can’t wait to dive into it.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson


Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Again, this is another Morgan Matson book that takes place in the Summer. The idea of a road trip really excites me because there is just so much you can discover while you are on the road. And also, there is nothing more Summery than a road trip. I don’t know why, but road trips gives me Summer vibes. I have wanted to read this book for quite a while now and I think now is the perfect time to do so.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins


Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. 

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

This is a trilogy I have been wanting to read since I started reading, which is quite a while ago. It has also been getting really good reviews so I do expect it be quite the trilogy. I want to kick it off by reading the first book this Summer. It’s a romance novel, prefect for this time of the year, at least in my eyes. I feel that it’s going to be an easy and fun read, something light, which is just what I need right now.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas


Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

I have obviously read the previous two books in this phenomenal series and they blew me away. I am currently reading this one, the third book in the Throne of Glass series. I am really not that far into this book at all so I can’t say much about it. However, I can say that I have a feeling that this book is going to be the best in the series so far. With a new setting and place to explore, information we got from the previous book, this is going to be epic. And I have heard that this series gets better as it goes so I do have high expectations for this.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare


Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

This is the second book in The Mortal Instruments series which I finally started in the last few weeks. I really enjoyed City of Bones, the previous book. I didn’t love it, but I liked it a lot. This whole world of Shadowhunters is still very new to me so reading this book is probably going to be a little hard for me. There is a lot of hype surrounding this series and that scares me because, what if I don’t end up loving this series? Will I enjoy the rest of the series more than I did with the first book? I guess we’ll just have to see.

Girl Online Going Solo by Zoe Sugg


As Penny starts the school year she’s ready to face the world – alone. Noah has gone off the radar after ending his world tour early and no one, including Penny, knows where he is. So when she accepts Megan’s invitation to visit her performing arts school it seems like an opportunity to make some new friends.

Helping everyone else seems to be the right remedy – Elliot needs her friendship more than ever, and she meets Posey, who she can really help with her stage fright. But is charming Scottish boy Callum the right kind of distraction? And can Penny truly move on when Noah’s shadow seems to haunt her round every corner?

I want to start out by saying that I am a really big Zoella fan. Zoe is my all time favourite YouTuber. That being said, I have already read this book. This is the third book in the Girl Online trilogy, I believe it is. I think this is the conclusion. I want to reread this book this Summer because I don’t remember what happened when I read it the first time round. Also, the Girl Online series may not be the best, but it’s sort of my guilty pleasure read. It’s got some cheesy romance but I absolutely love it. Probably because it’s a series I read before reading all the really good and big novels out there.

That is it for my Summer TBR. I’ve got some exciting things to read this season so I will be looking forward to that, since we do not have Summer holidays here. Tell me in the comments, what are some books you are planning to read this season?

Leave a Reply

