Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Hello everybody!

Since it’s the middle of the year-ish, I want to do the Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag. I honestly cannot believe half the year has already gone by. Where has it gone?

I was not tagged by anyone to do this tag, but I want to anyway. This tag was originally created by ReadLikeWildfire and Earl Grey Books over on YouTube, you should go check their videos out. (Even though it was originally created on their blogs.)

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

The best book I’ve read so far is most probably Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I don’t think I need to dwell into too much detail here because it’s pretty self-explanatory. 

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan. There isn’t a book written by Rick I don’t love, so this is no surprise. This is the second book in The Trials of Apollo series. I thought that it was a fantastic sequel, it really brought the plot forward. It was action packed, filled with humour, and overall amazing. 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. There is a lot of hype surrounding this book. Everyone seems to be loving it. It is a diverse and important read, something I want to read more of. I know that I will love this just as much as everyone else, I just haven’t gotten a copy of it yet (and I really need to).

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

I honestly do not know what’s coming out in the next half of the year. The only book I have interest in, that I know of is, The Ship of the Dead by Rick Riordan. This is the conclusion to the Magus Chase and the Gods of Asgard trilogy. Again, I am a huge Rick Riordan fan, so…

5. Biggest disappointment.

This is not that much of a disappointment, but it still is nonetheless. And that book is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I really wanted to love it because of the hype, but unfortunately, I didn’t. I felt that the plot was slow and difficult to read at times. But other than that, I did like it. 

6. Biggest surprise.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I knew nothing about this book before I started it, including the hype. I didn’t think it would be great (see above), so I didn’t expect anything out of it. But, I ended up loving it! I absolutely adored it! Eleanor and Park were such lovable characters and I just fell in love with them. 

7. Favourite new author. (debut or new to you)

This has to go to the phenomenal Sarah J. Maas. Self-explanatory.

8. Newest fictional crush.

Do not judge me, but it’s Edward Cullen from The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. I don’t even want to go into details.

9. Newest favourite character.

Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Celaena is an amazing amazing character. There is just so much about her that I love, and I don’t even know where to begin. She’s badass, brave, very independent and in my eyes, a true hero. 

10. Book that made you cry.

So far, no book has made me cry. 

11. Book that made you happy.

A book that really made me smile is Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han, which is the conclusion to the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy. The romance in this book is absolutely lovely to read about and following Lara Jean has been the greatest time. 

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

The only film adaptation I’ve seen this year is Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. But, I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite. A film adaptation I’ve been dying to see however, is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I loved the book and I have a feeling I’ll love the film adaptation just as much.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I don’t really have a favourite review because I don’t think I’m good at doing reviews at all.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year. (or received)

This has to go to Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, 20th anniversary Gryffindor edition. I don’t think I need to continue.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I want to try to finish The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices trilogy both by Cassandra Clare. 

That is it for this book tag! I am tagging abbiereadsbooks and Darque Dreamer Reads.

Leave a Reply

