July TBR

Hello everybody!

It’s July and time for another TBR! Time really flies, doesn’t it? I honestly cannot believe half the year has already gone by. I am in a little reading slump which has been very annoying. So, I do not expect to read more than half of my TBR this month.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

I am currently reading this book and I do not think I will finish it any time soon. I am only 50 plus pages in and the only thing I can say is that I’m enjoying the change of setting. I am excited to see more of this new setting and from what we know from the previous book, I expect to see quite a lot in this book.

Red Sky in the Morning by Elizabeth Laird


Anna will never forget the night her brother was born. The doctors say Ben is profoundly disabled and will never lead a normal life. Her family struggles to come to terms with their baby, but for Anna it’s love at first sight.

I have to finish this book for my literary class this semester so this is a priority in this list. So far, I am really enjoying this book! I think it’s very honestly about disabled people and I love the message this book is giving. I hope that I will enjoy the rest of the book just as much as I do now. And I will probably have to reread this many many times.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas


Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

This month, I plan to continue with the Throne of Glass series after I finish Heir of Fire. I don’t think it will be happening because I am horrible with sticking to my TBRs. But one can be hopeful! Also, one ToG is a lot to take in and digest so I will probably need a little break from this series. I expect this book to be epic because they say this series gets better as it goes.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare


Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

This month, I also plan to continue with another series which is obviously, The Mortal Instruments. I really hope that this book will completely suck me into this world because as much as I think the Shadowhunter world is awesome, I an very lost. I don’t really get how everything works and how Clary knows so much about it already. It’s weird.

Divergent by Veronica Roth


In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

I have this book laying around for quite a while now and I think it’s time to pick it up. Almost everyone has read this trilogy and it’s finally time I do too. I feel that this series may be a little overhyped so at first, I was hesitant. But I personally know a lot of people who love this series, so I’m going to give it a shot.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins


Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

Last year, I picked this book up. After I was 300 pages into it, I decided to put it down because I felt that the plot was not going anywhere. I think it was because I was not in the mood for it. This time, I am going to pick it up again and immerse myself into the world. I really don’t want this book to be just alright so I hope I will enjoy and finish it this time.

That are all the books I plan to read this month. Obviously, I do not think I will read all six books but hopefully (I say “hopeful” a lot, don’t I?), I will read a decent number of them. What are some books you’re planning to read this month?

Leave a Reply

