June Wrap Up

Hello everybody!

June is officially over! June was supposed to be the month where I spend my entire time reading because I do not have school. Unfortunately, that was not the case. June had not been a good reading month for me at all.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas


From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

As expected, I really enjoyed this book! My only minor problem with it was that most of the action came at the end. The beginning was a little slow and the plot wasn’t really going anywhere. But, towards the end, like the really end, everything exploded. That’s the best way I can describe it. Other than that, I love everything about this book!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han


Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Out of the three books in this trilogy, this one has to be my favourite! I had so much fun reading this book! Throughout this book, we really get to see Lara Jean grow as a person and as a character as she goes through the high school to college phase. This book has a little bit of everything, family, friends and of course, romance. This book was a cute, heart warming read and a terrific ending.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare


When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Rating: 4/5 stars

After being on my TBR for the longest time, I finally started The Mortal Instruments. I have to say, this world is addictive! I rather enjoyed myself reading this book! I do have to point out though, that the plot was a little hard to follow at times. But other than that, this is a very interesting world and concept which I am excited to continue to follow.

That’s all the books I’ve read in June. Not a lot, I know, in my case at least. What are some books you’ve read in June?

3 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. I hope you will have a better reading month in July. I finally have a 1 month break before university starts so I hope that I will be able to read more in July. Anyways, I’m hesitant to pick up Forever, Lara Jean as I didn’t really enjoy the 2nd novel in this trilogy. :/ After reading about you mentioning Lara’s growth is causing me to have 2nd thoughts. Maybe I should give the final novel a chance?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

