Books I Need to Reread

Hello everybody!

Today, I want to talk about books I want, or rather, need to reread. There are a lot of reasons why someone would want reread a book. In my case, for this list, it is either because I want to give the book second chance or because I love that book and I want to relive that magic. When I first started reading, I hated the idea of rereading a book. I did not know how someone could do that. Now that I have been reading for some time, I am more open to that idea. Therefore, this list. 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green


Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

The first time I read The Fault in Our Stars was towards the end of last year. And honestly speaking, it did not live up to the hype for me. As I read more John Green books, I realised that John Green is just not for me. In fact, I don’t think John Green is for everyone. But, I do think that The Fault in Our Stars has potential and is one of his better books. I want to reread it, give it another shot, and see how I feel about it this time.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness


The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

A Monster Calls is another book with a lot of hype surrounding it, especially since the movie came out. I can’t say that it did not live up to the hype because I was not properly reading it. What I mean is that I did not take time to digest everything because I was rushing through it. I will definitely enjoy it a million times more if I took the time to read every page properly and take it all in. And that is exactly what I need to do.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

To start off, I am in love with Everything, Everything. I first read it a few months ago and since then, it has become one of my all time favourite book. I don’t know what it is about this book, but in my opinion, it is amazing! Therefore, I need to read it again. Hopefully in my second reading, I will pick up things I didn’t notice before and hopefully, they aren’t negative things. 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling


Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

Okay, confession time. I have only read the Harry Potter series once. ONCE. Apparently, as a Potterhead, it is necessary to reread the series because, it just is. Many people out there has reread Harry Potter a hundred times or something, and I am sitting here, forgetting everything that happened in the books. For the record, I rewatch the movies a lot. It’s not exactly the same experience, I know. And that is why I need to reread Harry Potter.

That was a rather short post, I know. But honestly, knowing myself, I may not actually spend the time to reread these books (expect for maybe Harry Potter). Tell me what are some books you need or want to reread sometime soon.

2 thoughts on “Books I Need to Reread

  1. I loved all of these, but Everything Everything is one of my favourite books ever…I haven’t seen the film yet, I just hope it’s not awful 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

