Fantasy TBR

Hello everybody!

As I have mentioned for the umpteenth time, I am horrible at reading fantasy books. But, it is certainly not due to the fact that I don't enjoy them. In fact, I do enjoy them very much and it's something I want to read more of. I just find starting a fantasy book/series an intimidating thing to do even though I know it's not going to be like that at all. Therefore, for today's blog post, I want to create a fantasy TBR for myself.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis: Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

The Grisha Trilogy is a series I have been interested in for quite some time now. It seems like a very intricate and interesting world to explore, something I won't normally pick up. I currently have this book with me, a copy I borrowed from the library, so I have no excuse not to read it. Also, it's a pretty well loved series I have a feeling I will love too.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Synopsis: Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all theprivilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

For as long as I started actively reading YA books, this series has been on my TBR. I have no good reason as to why I have yet to start it. This is another really well loved fantasy series I have been interested in for a long time now. I find it hard to start a high fantasy series, which this isn't, so I should have little problems getting into it.

A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis: Feyre's survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre's presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

What's a fantasy TBR without a Sarah J. Maas series you have yet to read? Am I right? Everyone has been hyping about the ACOTAR series for the longest time now, and guess what? I have yet to read it. I have, however, read half of the Thorne of Glass series. As far as I can tell, Sarah J. Maas is an amazing fantasy author. I am both excited and nervous to board on the ACOTAR train. But, I'm mostly nervous because of all the hype surrounding it.

The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward

Synopsis: When the Princess of Nova accidentally poisons herself with a love potion meant for her crush, she falls crown-over-heels in love with her own reflection. Oops. A nationwide hunt is called to find the cure, with competitors travelling the world for the rarest ingredients, deep in magical forests and frozen tundras, facing death at every turn.

Enter Samantha Kemi – an ordinary girl with an extraordinary talent. Sam's family were once the most respected alchemists in the kingdom, but they've fallen on hard times, and winning the hunt would save their reputation. But can Sam really compete with the dazzling powers of the ZoroAster megapharma company? Just how close is Sam willing to get to Zain Aster, her dashing former classmate and enemy, in the meantime?

And just to add to the pressure, this quest is ALL OVER social media. And the world news.

This is a book that has been intriguing me for over a year now. At first, I don't really know if it's something for me. But, one of friends had recently read it and loved it. She described it as light hearted and fun. Because of that, I want to give it a try and see how I feel about it. I may not love it as much as she did, but I have a feeling it's going to be an enjoyable, quick read, which is just what I need right now.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Synopsis: Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

I first discovered this series through Hailey in Bookland over on YouTube (Check her channel out if you have not. She's wonderful!). She talks about this series a lot. She mentioned how it's underrated and how everyone should read it. I trust her. Besides, the whole concept sounds very interesting and different. I am excited to read this series, especially later this year, because the cover and the title gives me Winter vibes and I feel I should read it then.

That is basically it for my fantasy TBR. I find it hard to pick books for this particular TBR because there are a lot of fantasy books I am still hesitant about. These are just the couple that I am sure I want to read. What are some fantasy books you want to read?

Leave a Reply

