July Wrap Up

Hello everybody!

July is over, it's time for another wrap up. Considering that I started this month in a reading slump, I read a pretty good number of books. This month, I read a total of six books and I'm perfectly happy with that number. But, a lot of them were only alright. And, I didn't really stick to my July TBR.

Red Sky in the Morning by Elizabeth Laird

Synopsis:Anna will never forget the night her brother was born. The doctors say Ben is profoundly disabled and will never lead a normal life. Her family struggles to come to terms with their baby, but for Anna it's love at first sight.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I had to read this book for school so it was a little rush. If it was a book I picked out on my own, I would have took the time to absorb every moment of this book. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It has a little bit of everything, from family and friendships to growing up. This book also includes many toughing and moving scenes as well as humorous, funny scenes. I find that both were balanced out really nicely. I had a great ton of fun reading this book and following our protagonist, Anna. But like I mentioned, I had to read this book for school which made it feel like a chore. If that wasn't the case, I might have given it four stars.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Synopsis:Charlie's not the biggest geek in high school, but he's by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent, yet socially awkward, Charlie is a wallflower, standing on the threshold of his life whilst watching everyone else live theirs.

As Charlie tries to navigate his way through uncharted territory – the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends – he realises that he can't stay on the sidelines forever. There comes a time when you have to see what life looks like from the dance floor.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

In my opinion, this book is sort of overrated. I was hoping for it to be a four to five stars read. I really wanted to love it but it just didn't happen for me. But needless to say, I still enjoyed this book. Even though I didn't love it, I can see why everyone else did. The characters just fell flat for me and I didn't connect with them well enough to make me feel invested in the story. The whole story was also quite a slow one, except for the end when it quickened up a little. I gave this book three point five stars because I felt that it hasn't quite reached the four stars mark.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Synopsis: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmateand crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.

Rating: 4/5 stars

This book has been receiving a lot of controversy especially since its Netflix originally series released. In my opinion, the whole cassette tape and why Hannah decided to end her life sounds too fictional. But because it is fictional, I looked past that fact. Besides all that, I really enjoyed this book! I thought that it was a very creative and different concept. I honestly do not have anything else to say about this book other than I liked it.

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Synopsis: Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.

Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

This book is one of the best books I have read in a while. Where do I start? This book was fantastic, captivating and heart breaking. The characters felt so real and genuine. The story tore me to pieces. I loved this book! As you get deeper into the story, you discover more and more about Grace, a main character in this book. I think the need of discovering Grace's story is really what made me invested in this book. Like I mentioned, it's absolutely heart wrenching. This was an incredible debut novel I will not be forgetting any time soon. Though, I wish it didn't end the way it did.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J.K Rowling

Synopsis: Harry Potter's life is miserable. His parents are dead and he's stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he's a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry's first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it's his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

Rating: 5/5 stars

This was my first Harry Potter reread! I don't think I need to elaborate on my opinions because I'm sure we all have the same one. A Harry Potter reread is always needed and I am so glad I finally did just that. There are a couple of things here and there I do not recall from my first read of Harry Potter a year ago, and it's wonderful to get to pick up on those little informations to refresh my brain. It feels great to return to the Wizarding World. My only complaint, it was too short, I wanted it to last longer.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis:Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Rating: 3/5 stars

Despite giving this book three stars, I actually pretty much enjoyed this book. My only problem with it is that I didn't connect with the characters and the story like I would want to. Also, the story felt a little too slow for me. But, I have to say that I love Leigh Bardugo's writing style. That was the one thing that pushed me to complete this book. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the story and will definitely be continuing with this series. If you want to know my full thoughts on this book, I have a book review up on this blog.

And those are all the books I read in the month of July. What are some books you've this month?

2 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

