August TBR

Hello everybody!

Based on my reading last month, I realised how terrible I am at following TBRs. Therefore, for this month's TBR, I am going to be more realistic (e.g. picking books I will actually read). Plus, Summer is coming to an end and I still have not read the books on my Summer TBR. Even though I will not be including those books in this list, they are technically still on my TBR.

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Synopsis: Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants.

Because I am currently reading this book, I am sure I am able to complete this by the end of the month. I am about half way through this book and I am enjoying it so far. From what I have read, this will probably be my favourite Sarah Dessen novel yet.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis:Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

Not long ago, I DNFed this book about 100 pages through. I was loving it and everything, but at the same time, I wasn't absorbing any information at all. My brain just would not work. This time, I will be reading it from the start and hopefully finish it. I am excited to continue with this series because I can sense a lot of turning points coming my way and I am ready to be blown away.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Synopsis: Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. Butthe Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

The Mortal Instruments (and all things Cassandra Clare) is another series I need to get on with. Even though I have only read the first book, I am already loving this world! Personally, I really enjoy urban fantasy so I know this is a series I will love (just like everybody else).

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Synopsis:Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Shatter Me is one of those popular series I have yet to read. I have never really given much thought about reading this series but recently, I have been rather interested in it. The whole concept sounds intriguing and something I may potentially enjoy. But, from reading Goodreads reviews, I have an impression that Tahereh Mafi's writing may not be for everyone. I want to give this book a shot and see how I feel about it.

As you can probably tell, my TBR for this month is a rather small one compared to my usual monthly TBR. I don't want to go over board by picking books I may not even touch. What are some books you plan to read this month?

Leave a Reply

